Direct links
Breadcrumb navigation Content

River Information Services

What are River Information Services?

The growing demand for high-quality, cost and time-saving transport services, as well as the provision of electronic information, has become an important success factor for logistics companies. In order to better equip inland waterway transport with the necessary tools for these needs, tailor-made information and management services - so-called River Information Services (RIS) - have been developed in Europe to assist both freight and passenger shipping on the waterway.

River Information Services increase traffic safety and improve efficiency, reliability and scheduling of transport. The available RIS data form a base of information for the support of traffic and transport related tasks.

RIS in the European Union

The harmonisation of River Information Services is EU wide and regulated by the Directive on harmonised River Information Services (RIS) on inland waterways in the Community which has been effective since 20th October 2005. This so-called "RIS Directive" contains mandatory technical provisions for navigational equipment and electronic data interchange along with minimum requirements for RIS implementation. The aim is to prevent the development of a conglomerate of dissimilar RIS applications and incompatible technologies within the EU.

The coordination and implementation of RIS services at European level is done with partners from European countries in the context of several EU-projects, such as the IRIS Europe projects (www.iris-europe.net). Above all, the international data exchange and the further development of the RIS infrastructure are to be implemented partly with coordination of viadonau together with its partners. All essential services of RIS are based on standards provided by the European Union, the UN/ECE, the Danube Commission and the Central Commission for Navigation on the Rhine.

For details please visit www.ris.eu

Page information

Last change:
16. 05. 2017

Direkte Links
Positionsnavigation Inhalt

River Information Services

Was sind River Information Services?

Die wachsende Nachfrage nach hochwertigen, kosten- und zeitsparenden Transportleistungen sowie die elektronische Bereitstellung von Informationen sind zu einem wichtigen Erfolgsfaktor für Logistikunternehmen geworden. Um die Binnenschifffahrt für diese Bedürfnisse besser zu rüsten, wurden in Europa maßgeschneiderte Informations- und Managementdienste – sogenannte River Information Services (RIS) – entwickelt, die sowohl den Gütertransport als auch die Personenschifffahrt auf den Wasserstraßen unterstützen.

River Information Services erhöhen die Sicherheit im Verkehr und verbessern die Wirtschaftlichkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und Planbarkeit der Transporte. Die mittels RIS verfügbaren Daten bilden eine Informationsgrundlage zur Unterstützung bei verkehrs- und transportbezogenen Aufgabenstellungen.

RIS in der Europäischen Union

Die Harmonisierung von River Information Services ist EU-weit in der Richtlinie über harmonisierte Binnenschifffahrts-Informationsdienste (RIS) auf den Binnenwasserstraßen der Gemeinschaft des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates geregelt, welche am 20.10.2005 in Kraft getreten ist. In dieser sogenannten „RIS-Richtlinie“ sind neben verbindlichen technischen Vorschriften über Ausrüstungen und elektronischen Datenaustausch auch Minimalanforderungen an RIS-Implementierungen enthalten. Hierdurch wird die Entstehung eines nicht zusammenhängenden Konglomerats an unterschiedlichen RIS-Anwendungen und inkompatiblen Technologien in der EU verhindert.

Die Abstimmung und Implementierung der RIS Services auf europäischer Ebene erfolgt mit Partnern aus europäischen Ländern im Rahmen diverser EU Projekte, wie z.B. den IRIS Europe Projekten (www.iris-europe.net). Vor allem der internationale Datenaustausch und der Ausbau der RIS Infrastruktur werden teils unter der Koordination von viadonau gemeinsam mit den Partnern umgesetzt. Alle wesentlichen Services von RIS basieren auf Standards der Europäischen Union, der UN/ECE und der beiden Flusskommissionen Donaukommission und Zentralkommission für die Rheinschifffahrt.

Details finden sich unter www.ris.eu.

Seiteninformation

Letzte Änderung:
16. 05. 2017